Some people believe that exploring outer space is important because it expands human knowledge and might lead to discoveries that will benefit humanity in the future. Other people believe that space exploration is a waste of money that could be better spent solving immediate problems here on Earth.

Some individuals have canvassed that it is highly crucial for the human to seek knowledge about space and the universe, as this helps them, not only to advance their understanding of space; but also can help break new ground through useful discoveries; while others have argued that the colossal expense involves in such a project can be better utilized to address some more pressing needs which affect our world. This essay agrees with the latter view that emphasis is focused on problems inherent within our planets such as climate changes and the detrimental effect of global warming. This essay will discuss both opinions. On the one hand, exploring outer space, help us to know more about our universe and understand better the concept of time and season. The benefit of this is that it is now possible to predict with much accuracy, future changes in the universe, as well as, climate and weather that can adversely affect our world. To exemplify this; through such science, it is now possible to date with precision the occurrence of some events like meteorites hitting the earth, and causing disaster which can be destructive to lives and properties, thereby putting up measures in place to reduce the impacts from such event. On the other hand, the humungous expense involved in this space project can be burdensome, and it is believed that such funds could have been better harnessed in other more pertinent issues of urgent nature. In other words, it will be more reasonable to deal with internal crises troubling our existence first, before exploring space, with its potential benefits. For example, due to the effect of global warming, there has been the issue of climate change with increasing desertification, especially in the arid regions of the earth. As a result, business activities like farming can no longer go on well, due to climate unpredictability. In conclusion, while exploring space can fortify us with knowledge and can even make us give valuable predictions of future changes that can affect our world, I strongly believe that more priority should be given to immediate problems which directly threaten our existence like global warming and climate change.