There is a trend in the 21 century in which people are turning to alternative healing like Ayurveda and homeopathy over allopathic medicine. Discuss the Advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

Nowadays, many people try to find alternative medication as their health solution, such as Ayurveda and allopathic medicine. This brings to a benefit and also a drawback that many people often argued. Overall, alternative medication can give hope to those people who want to give up on their health condition. Meanwhile, this medication still has lack research about its safety and effect on some diseases. First of all, alternative medicines have been used for many years before modern medications exist. As a result, many people believe that it can be used as an alternative solution when modern medications cannot help them anymore, which is giving new hope for people to be healthy again and get recovery. Take Chinese medicine as an example, namely acupuncture which has been used since a long time ago in Chinese regions. Many health institutions have already used this alternative therapy to some critical illness problems and have shown a good result. This means, some alternative medicine gives benefits to people who give up on modern medication. On the other hand, there is a disadvantage of using alternative medicine because there is only a little information related to this therapy. Many cases have shown that alternative medicine can bring complications to a patient's body if the doctor does not control the therapy. For instance, a traditional medicine, namely Jammu that people in Indonesia have been using since many years ago, brings to complication diseases like chronic liver disease and digestion problems. This is why we always have to get a doctor's suggestion before taking any alternative medications. To conclude, I believe that alternative medications can give hope and benefits to people who suffer chronic disease for a long time although it also has a drawback that brings other complications. That is why we have to consult with our doctor first and read many references before we are taking alternative medications.