More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

With improved living texture and increased salaries, people prefer travelling around the city with private cars which are more comfortable and time-saving. However, the prevalence of the reliance on cars can be problematic to some extent. In this essay, I will provide what I consider to be the most pressing consequences and suggest a possible solution. Considering the environment, too many private vehicles lead to severe air pollution. It is beyond doubt that the more cars running on roads, the more greenhouse gases are released. Most of these emitted gases will not be absorbed, as there are not adequate trees or forests. In the end, it leads to worsened air quality and even global warming. Apart from environmental concerns, traffic inconvenience is another issue brought about by overuse. First of all, some main avenues may suffer from lots of reparations and maintenance because of too many vehicles, which brings difficulties to commuters who have to travel through other and indirect routes. Besides, when it comes to peak hours, travellers ought to spend more time on roads due to the congestion, which must be an unpleasant experience to any of them. Given these problems, a well-developed and broadly extended transport network should be championed. More specifically, citizens have particular demands of bus lines that go to any direction downtown, metro stations within walking distance, and public vehicles that are well-ventilated and have enough modern facilities. Therefore, the construction of better public transportation is a necessity in many first -tier or second -tier cities in particular. In conclusion, the phenomenon of over-reliance on private cars should be thoroughly considered, as it brings several difficulties. To tackle these issues, one of the urgent tasks is to build more underground stations and have more bus lines.