Many people use the Internet as their main educational resource. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this practice?

The popularity of educational use of the internet has been increasing among people. While there are drawbacks of this trend, in my opinion, the benefits of that would be far more. There would be two main disadvantages of using the internet as the main resource to study. Firstly, the validity of content could be dubious because there is almost no limitation to anyone to share anything either and websites or social media. For example, there is a chance that someone shares her thoughts on her blog and an individual may find that as the reference to learn. Also, people can get confused by the variety of sources on different websites. Secondly, there is likely to be many inappropriate contents on the internet that could distract a student. On the other hand, this practice would certainly benefit people more than harm them. A researcher could easily find out about a research topic by reading different articles from valid websites such as science direct. In addition, if a person wanted to use the old way of learning through books and face-to-face classes, she would force to be present at a specific location, while by using the internet she can learn from anywhere. Besides, various tutorial videos on several websites such as YouTube is likely to help people to self-study rather than attending different courses. They also have the opportunity to choose their teacher. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential benefits of the use of the internet as the main resource of education would outweigh the possible harms.