Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Certain people opine that an insufficient amount of garbage is being reserved for reuse claiming that this can only be altered if the government made it a law for everyone. I agree with this notion because only when laws are enforced that can result in punishment for offenders as well as in limitations in what activities people can engage in if they fail to recycle their waste, can individuals improve their attitudes to recycling. First and foremost, laws of the land that can call for stiffer punishment for individuals who refuse to recycle waste products can force people to abide by. To put this in perspective, once governments make it legal for all individuals to ensure that the garbage from their homes is reserved for reuse otherwise face punishment, then all citizens would easily comply without delay. Take, for example, if a law was passed that made it punishable by a fine of more than $200 dollars for someone who did not reserve enough waste for reuse, then people would easily obey fearing to be fined. Therefore, laws are needed to the extent possible in order to force people to increase the recycling of waste products. Secondly, when legal requirements indicate that people who do not store a sufficient amount of garbage for reuse would be restricted in the number of activities that they can engage in, then more people would obey. In other words, because a lot of people enjoy several types of leisure activities, a threat to with-hold some of them for failure to have their waste recycled, is not something they would want to experience. Hence, they would be more alert to how they handle recycled products. For instance, in a survey conducted on the effects of restrictions on people who do not obey government laws about waste disposal, it was determined that people were more than willing to comply so they would continue enjoying their usual activities. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm that laws should be instituted to the extent possible by ensuring punishments and restrictions are imposed on all law-breakers for not recycling enough wastes. In this way, all citizens would obey and thus increase the amount of garbage kept for reuse.