In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In a plethora of cities, settlement planners usually demarcate residential areas from shops, schools, and offices. This essay will analyze the benefits of this town layout as making a locality more organized, making the residential areas more secure; and the drawback of creating a traffic congestion problem, especially for the residents who have to travel distance to access workplaces, schools, and offices. On the one hand, when town plans are being done in this way, the settlement looks better organized and more beautiful, making places easy to trace or locate. This means that the town structure can be well understood by everybody, and one can easily make out directions to any area. For example, studying such places on Google Maps is easy to navigate. Furthermore, the residential areas are more secure, since they are sited separately from the office, market, or school environment, which means intruders or strangers can be easily monitored. On the other hand, when the home environment is separated from the offices, schools, and shops, it creates a major problem of traffic congestion, especially in the morning, when workers are leaving their various residential abodes to works, schools and or shops and also in the evening time when they will be rounding off the day's work, making people get late to work in the morning, and also late when getting back home in the evening. There will be a high density of traffic flux on the road, particularly in these periods. This is what often happens in major cities like Lagos, where workers have to have woken up very early in the morning to be able to get to the workplace on time, and also have to think of the headache of coming back home in the evening. In conclusion, planning towns in a way that separates the residential areas from the offices, shops, and schools have the benefit of making a place better organized, however, the main drawback is the heavy traffic congestion and its negative effects on city dwellers who have to face this every day, going from their residence to workplace, and vice-versa. I believe the disadvantages are more than the perceived benefits.