Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is generally acknowledged that Marriage ceremony is becoming larger and more costly in this day and age. Regarding this, I believe that it has drawbacks. This essay will outline the certain reason why wedding is being expensive, and suggest disadvantages that should be taken into consideration. On the one hand, broadly speaking, as marriage is one of the major events in individual's life, people desire to have the perfect moment. Therefore, the procedure of wedding is becoming sophisticated. Not only does a wedding party be required special steps such as exchanging wedding bands, cutting a cake and showing performance, it may also need various disposable items such as flowers and confetti. For example, recent media in Korea reports that at least 30000 dollors is necessary to have a wedding party in Korea since married couple want to have the excellent party. As the example clearly illustrates, a lot of money is needed to have the perfect wedding event. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks on costly wedding. Firstly, due to the gap between the rich and the poor, while the wedding of rich people is getting bigger, poor people's burden is becoming larger. For instance, a survey conducted by the Korea Population Foundation has revealed that 5% of couples give up to have wedding event as they feel miserable at their poor wedding party compared to rich one. Hence, it is resonable to point out that poor couples feel an excessive burden on costly wedding. Secondly, an extraordinary wedding party causes environmental issues as an enormous amount of food and flowers are prepared on the party. Once they decorate with flowers for wedding, they are abandoned, and food is getting rid of the party when people left it. In terms of this, a considerable amount of food is wasted annually in Korea. In conclusion, while people desire to have the perfact wedding event, big and expensive party causes many disadvantages in contemporary society.