Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Several small businesses are suffering from the growing trend of chain stores in society. This article will discuss the results this is causing to the regional shoppers and people including shutting down small-scale workshops. Further, this essay will put forward the ways to solve this problem. To begin with, there is no competition in huge supermarkets and small stores in size, scale and quantity of products. Moreover, The large stores have every product ranging from clothes, electrical equipment, grocery products, cosmetics, hair products and many more accessories. This has resulted in the popularity of supermarkets and in turn the closure of local shops. This has caused unemployment to the small-scale businessmen and those working under them. Additionally, this has caused trouble for the public as they have to travel to the cities to visit these shopmarts. For example, it has become hard for children and old people to buy products because they cannot go to cities on their own. The issue can be resolved if Government provide adequate financial and technical support to the little business owners which can motivate and help them to continue to put effort. For instance, they can offer discounts on their products which can motivate customers to buy products from them and in turn will result in the success of their business. Further, they can make contracts with superstores and divide the shares. This will solve the travelling problem of the people and prevent the local stores from closure. In conclusion, it can be said that it is hard for small-scale business owners to compete with huge markets.The essay discussed the problems caused by the closure of regional shops. The article came up with the solution that this matter can be resolved with the collective efforts of the Government, local businessmen and large businessmen