In some coutries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, it is recommended to students to travel for a year between graduating high school and commencing university. This essay will explore the benefits and drawbacks of this. Travelling an entire year at such young age can be a very rewarding experience that is very unlikely to repeat in a later stage of their lives because of the time that a career and a job will demand from them. Additionally, they have earned it because they have made their first great academic accomplishment. During their trip, they will be able to experience different cultures and places which can be very helpful. For example, many people have changed their career choice during their travel thanks to a recommendation of someone they met in another country or because they got interested in something they did not know before. On the other hand, starting college a year later has some disadvantages. Firstly, they will be a year behind those that started university right away. This does not seem much, but in a very competitive world, it can make a difference. For instance, if a company has to choose between 2 people with the same degree but one younger than the other they will choose the former. Secondly, it can be difficult to start university after a year without any challenging intellectual activity. This can affect the student's performance in their first year. To sum up, travelling during a year after high school can be a unique experience that can help the traveller but it can also have negative consequences in their future academic and laboral life.