in many countries, there is a shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the countryside. Other argue for the regeneration of the cities. What are the advantages and Disadvantages of building new towns in the countryside?

In a growing number of nations, as a result of the expanding population, accommodations are becoming a major challenge for city dwellers. Some individuals have suggested that rural communities be upgraded and town inhabitants are re-settled in these upgraded rural settlements, while others are of the opinion that what is needed is for these big cities to be restructured in a way to accommodate this teeming population. This essay will first analyze the benefits of developing modern settlements in the villages to reduce the population strain in the cities, and then discuss the negative implications this will have which is the colossal expenditure involved in such a project. On the one hand, by building new towns in the rural areas, the local communities are able to experience development, as a result of the social amenities that will have to be constructed along with the accommodation settlements. In addition, these places will now attract business owners and also job seekers who will now have to relocate to these new settlements to look for jobs. Overall the entire nation thus, witnesses astronomical developments in the process. For example, in Nigeria, villages at the outskirt of Lagos are now experiencing population growth and expansion due to the fact that many large industries are migrating there for settlements thus easing the stress of the heavy population density in the main center of Lagos. On the other hand, one main demerit of this major move is the huge expenditure involved. In other words, to embark on this kind of gigantic project which requires building houses and infrastructures in the rural communities on a large scale can be economically draining and this means other aspects of the economy will suffer. The other alternative is to encourage private sector participation in this kind of project, which means the cost of accommodation in these villages will shoot up drastically, as the private owners will have to make gains from these partnership ventures, making it counter-productive. For example, spending on upgrading many remote areas can be amounting to billions of dollars, which can be too expensive for most countries to consider. To conclude, building towns in rural areas; is a laudable project which touches many lives and relieves the stress in major cities, the humungous capital involved in the execution of these expensive endeavours is a major drawback.