Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative developments?

The togetherness and bonding of two people, on the verge of spirituality keeping it lifelong with the consent of both, leads to a successful marriage. Whilst, the trend behind this function, nowadays, is perplexed, whether, is it the wedding or showing off jewellery and dowry indeed? Hereby, speaking for myself, I believe it's an utterly negative development, which is because of the miscellaneous reason as stated below. People these days are sophisticated with many things including the living standard, clothing, food and many more which they want to create a superior position in the society they are dwelling, be it a wedding ceremony or just a simple occasion. They are more into creating memories by purchasing expensive accessories like jewellery, designer's dresses making it extra for the wedding looks highly paid photographers which ultimately make the function cost an arm and a leg, just to establish their high reputation and standard in the society. Furthermore, celebrities are spending massive money for marriage so as to be at the heading of the news, irrespective of the consequences what community might think of, or just for getting the attention of all, they make it costly so that they can flaunt in social media and get highlighted. Both of which may result in an economic crisis as money is spent haphazardly without the proper use if the public copies celebrity trends. Besides, antisocial activities such as robbery and burglary might happen when those thieves know about big events that are happening. Thus, it is to conclude that the excess use of cash in the marriage function and other occasions for the sake of publicity leads to degrading of the culture and increase the antisocial activities which are definitely downfalls.