A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A debate towards social status and old-fashioned values is breaking the internet lately. Many people believe, having a great social status and material is more important than honour, kindness, and trust. I strongly disagree with this view and I’m going to write down the explanation. Since we were a kid, we were told by our parents not to judge a book by its cover but in the reality, we are judging a book by its cover. Nowadays, people are willing to pay a great number of money for a nice and fancy suit. Not only they are hoping to be respected, but also to gain trust easily. People tend to trust a well-fashioned guy to do a business than a bad appearance person. However, I believe that old-fashioned values are also matter in life. Wise man once said, “treat people the way you want to be treated”. If you want to be honoured, then you should start by honouring other people. I also have a faith that by doing this, we can gain a “real” trust by others rather than just simply put on good clothes to gain trust. In summary, both materials and old-fashioned values are important in humanity. I also consider that old-fashioned values is much more valuable rather putting on a pretty materials.