Some people tell that to reduce traffic and pollution, government should increase the tax on the petrol (gasoline). Would there is more benefits than the drawback?

There is an opinion among certain individuals that applying an increased tax on petrol by the government will act as a deterrent to road traffic and pollution. Throughout this essay, I will discuss the benefits and demerits of such a measure and provide my viewpoint. Firstly, there is no doubt that gasoline is a major cause of vehicular congestion on roads and environmental pollution. Increasing the tax bracket on petrol will not only prevent people from taking out their personal vehicles, but will also promote sustainable alternatives such as carpooling,cycling use of public transport etc. Consequently, there will be a decline in the release of harmful pollutants in the atmosphere, which is one of the major causes of global warming. For instance, due to the high taxation of petrol, most people in Denmark commute by bicycle and the government has implemented dedicated lanes for the same. Secondly, people will embrace electrical vehicles, which is environmentally friendly and cheaper as compared to transport run on fuel. At the same time, Increased taxes on petrol will not be taken kindly by individuals as it will create a dent in their pockets. Unless the government invests in an alternate source of transport infrastructure, solely increasing the tax bracket on gasoline will not have the desired results. In the absence of, another mode of transport people will continue to use cars. For example, the electric vehicle sector in India lacks government funding and policies for development, even though people are ready to use electric cars and bikes. To conclude, the benefits of increasing the tax on petrol can far outweigh the drawbacks if the government takes proper measures in developing other modes of transportation and not just increase the tax bracket for its personal benefits.