In the future all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology in the automobile industry is developing at an exponential rate. With these advancements, it is possible that in the future all modes of road transportation would be driverless. In my opinion the merits of self-driving cars, buses and trucks outweigh the demerits by a huge margin as it will make roads safer and make road transport more efficient. To begin with, self-driving automobiles will help reduce road traffic accidents. The majority of the accidents on roads happen due to human errors. Every year thousands of lives are lost on road due to rash driving and lack of attention on the road. For instance, truck drivers due to the monotonous nature of their jobs end up losing their attention from the road leading to disastrous accidents. Thus, driverless cars will help in saving lives by reducing human error. Moreover, there will be an increase in the efficiency of the transport system. Driverless buses and trucks will ensure that they arrive on time at their desired locations. For example with humans involved as drivers these transport systems needed to stop for breaks and sleep which increases the time needed to reach the destination. Additionally, if all the automobiles on the road are self-driven these machines would be able to save the time lost in traffic jams by analysing the most beneficial routes with car to car communication. In conclusion, I believe that driverless transportation has more advantages than disadvantages as it would improve road safety and make transportation systems more efficient. Self-driven transport is truly the future of automobiles.