“Prevention is better than cure” Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures To what extent do you agree?

Many argue that the studies and treatments of all sorts of diseases are an expensive process that costs too many resources. Therefore, investing in measures to prevent illnesses is a better alternative. This essay completely agrees with this view because it reduces the high cost of healthcare and preventive methods keep people safe and healthy. Funding procedures that prevent health issues lowers medical care costs. Providing safety guidelines, applying correct strategies to control outbreaks of any disease, and informing people about healthier lifestyles decrease the probability of multiple health issues and recurring medical procedures followed by expenses such as medicine, equipment and medical attention. Such extensive demands may strain the health service. For example, according to the World Health Organisation, Canada is a state that prioritizes prevention and provides access for the population to appropriate clinical services, having a positive outcome, such as early detection of illness and avoiding expensive health intervention. The second reason why preventive care should be prioritised is that it educates the population to aim for a healthier and safer lifestyle. Educating about the importance of maintaining a healthy lifestyle helps to form awareness for each individual to take initiative and prevent sicknesses that could potentially affect their health in the near future. Modern-day medicine allows people to have better and longer livelihoods, as they are able to manage most illnesses at the first stage of their development, as preventive care promotes autonomous medical prevention. As an example, a food diet is a highly effective method used as a health guide to support patients presenting signs of food disorders. In conclusion, preventative measures avoid the elevation in healthcare costs and guarantee a healthy supported lifestyle; therefore, I believe that health procedures should have a far greater investment.