Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Certain people opine that it is necessary to share all the data obtained in any research activity while others believe such information is too precious to be given out. In my opinion, I believe sharing information can help those with little means of researching to be self-sustaining even though this might mean more competition to the originators of the ideas. Nowadays, sharing of information is very important as it is the only means that we can reduce the burden on the nations with little means for researching. In other words, because some entities have limited resources to conduct sufficient research at any given time, they can never forge ahead in their mission if they are not assisted with information by those who already have it. They in turn would be able to make alterations to the information thereby improving it in certain areas and be able to reshare it. Take, for instance, in the search for the Covid-19 vaccine, the scientists who already have the information are willing to share it with everyone else who in turn will be able to make some adjustments and find a cure. This is why I agree with the call for information sharing because everyone benefits equally and many lives could be saved as a result. On the other hand, some of the entities decide to withhold information because they conclude that it could result in a reduced source of income for them. To put this in perspective, some organisations' survival is based on the sale of the researched product, hence, giving out information would mean a reduced number of customers on the global market but with an increase in competitors. For example, the companies responsible for finding a cure for HIV/AIDS can not share their data for fear that not all current consumers would continue to buy their products if their competitors made it free. Even though this might seem like a valid reason for refusing to share information freely, it only impacts everyone involved negatively. Like many other people, I too disagree with such a risky route. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my stance that information sharing should be promoted among all stakeholders as a way of assisting those incapable of conducting research independently even though this might result in income loss. Above all else, it is through such kind sharing that many hurdles have been resolved.