Many people think that the government should spend money to explore the outer space, while others believe that it is a waste of public money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views about whether the government should invest money in exploring outer space. While some people agree with this idea, others would argue that this behavior wastes public money. The most significant benefit of space exploration is to drive the development of new technologies that benefit our everyday lives. To be more specific, more unknown knowledge from outer space will be acquired and used to create practical products and services, which benefits human society. For example, scientists innovate new lightweight materials through analyzing space debris and samples carried by spacecraft, which offer us heat protection and enable food preservation so that some cold areas such as Finland and Norway have enough food supply and comfortable living environment to survive. It can be understandable as to why others argue that space exploration is a waste of financial resources. The main reason is that the expenses for facility construction and the expenditure for training astronauts are prohibitively high. Not all countries can afford this expense even if governments intend to carry out exploring the universe. As an example, a great number of individuals in Africa are struggling to sustain their lives, and due to chronic shortages of food and shelter, many disadvantaged and underprivileged children have been inflicted with many obstacles, even dying because of starving. If too much money is invested in space exploration, it is likely to cause social unrest and stagnate the country’s progress. In conclusion, while space exploration is highly considered useful in rich nations thanks to its distinctive benefits, it is neither possible nor practical for poor nations to implement such research. Therefore, my personal view would be that it should be dependent on the financial conditions of each nation.