People today sleep less and less. What are causes of this? Do you think this is a positive development?

There have been ongoing debates regarding whether or not many people nowadays are experiencing a consistent lack of sleep. This essay will elaborate on the causes of this sleep behaviour and the reason why I disagree that it has a positive impact on people ’s well-being. To begin with, there are various factors that contribute to an inadequate quantity of sleep. Firstly, an intense work schedule is responsible for chronic stress, which has allowed individuals to be at risk of having serious sleep problems including less quality of sleep and insomnia. Studies carried out by Cambridge University, for example, revealed that 70% of the working-age population has suffered from sleep disorders due to working long hours. Secondly, another cause that shortens sleep hours is behavioural lifestyle choices because many choose to be social drinkers and spend their nighttime instead of getting enough sleep. With regard to my point of view, I personally believe that people who sleep less than the amount required for regular sleep would have detrimental effects on their health such as high blood pressure, heart attack, and obesity. People who barely sleep, for example, is potentially affected by the most serious health problem like heart failure, however; those who have adequate sleep are able to live long lives. From this perspective, it is evident that if they continued this harmful habit, they might face severe health issues that increased the level of uncertainty in their life expectancy. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that people sleep less than before as a result of overwork and lifestyle alternatives, I am of the opinion that sleep is increasingly recognized as an important contributor to people ’s health and longevity.