Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, tourism is being considered as a core sector as well as being taken advantage of to boost their economies. Nevertheless, this industry is believed to pose threats to native traditions and the ecosystem. In my point of view, I completely adhere to the latter idea which I will delve into herein. At the outset, travel can damage the cultural identity of a nation. For instance, some food brands such as KFC, Lotteria or Popeyes merchandising fast food have been launching many stores as well as marketing strategies all over Vietnam. Therefore, many folks are attracted to eat this food but not trying their own cuisine. Consequently, more and more people are reluctant to eat specialities. Furthermore, visitors also bring western ways that could destroy cultures. In detail, in Vietnam, many have excessively asked the government in order to discard the lunar new year and merge it with the solar one instead. Not only does travel bring a negative effect on native traditions but also it affects the environment. Firstly, the more folks travel, the more emission is created. That emission has an adverse impact on our atmosphere, which has been causing respiratory diseases. Secondly, to attract more visitors and fulfil their demands, infrastructural developments are being effectuated. Because of those buildings, which usually use a lot of glass to decorate, the heat of sunlight is trapped in that city due to the greenhouse effect, making its climate harsher. To conclude, although tourism plays an indispensable role in the prosperity of nations, its drawbacks outweigh the advantages. I suppose that governments should propose policies to control persistent problems.