Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘on big traffic jam’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is believed that transportation is one of the crucial inventions in history. But, in the last thirty decades, the number of vehicles has exceeded which led to huge traffic jam in cities. In this essay, I will explain my view in this case and talk about the tools that governments figure out solution to decrease using it. First and foremost, I agree with the increasing number of cars in recent periods and this increase has led to congestion, especially in the city center or main road during the peak working hours at 07 am and 5 pm because everyone has gone to work. At this time the difficulty to reach places needs more time than in different time zones because all people have used their car instead of using public transportation. For instance, In Istanbul, everyday people spend more than 2 hours to get their work still and visa versa. On the other hand, the one of approaches that governments work on is infrastructure and providing multiple transportation ways to mitigate traffic such as building bridges, tram stations, and tunnels and encouraging people to use them rather than their cars through reducing wages and raising the fuel cost. Consequently, they eradicate the traffic jam. In addition to building the facilities out of the city and providing transportation that also helps to mitigate the crowd on the city center. For example, nowadays for a short trip to markets or restaurants humans get used to going by car instead of walking or using eco-friendly ways. To sum up, governments have to figure out solutions and always plan to eradicate traffic jam problems. Especially, in the industrial and capital cities.