Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new buildings. Others, however, believe that old buildings should be protected. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether old buildings should be knocked down to construct other facilities or should be protected. Although it has some benefits to build new buildings, I believe that protecting old buildings is more important. On the one hand, one of the most obvious benefits is that destroying historical buildings can improve urbanization. This means that if these buildings located in the centre of the city are knocked down, more free lands will be provided. As a result, governments are able to make more specific plans for the development of cities. Also, the construction of new buildings can offer a better living standard for individuals. For example, most of the old buildings are lack maintenance, which poses a threat to public security. If they can be replaced by new buildings, citizens are able to live in safer houses. Furthermore, it can provide more job opportunities for the public when these buildings are torn down. On the other hand, protecting heritage buildings can help people to memorize history and culture. The heritages are historical symbols for a country. For instance, the Great Wall, one of the greatest historical buildings in the world, shows the wisdom of ancient people on how to protect their homes and lands. In addition, Visitors can acquire knowledge and information of culture through these buildings, which helps them build ties with their nation and ethic. Moreover, without these old buildings, young people will lose the opportunity to learn from their ancestors and great people in history. In conclusion, although knocking down old buildings can offer some opportunities for the economy and society, I believe protecting them is more important.