Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

Many a time, people are engaged in jobs for which they have very little aptitude or interest but continue showing up for the same job throughout their entire life. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and the result of such an attitude towards work. To begin with, most individuals have certain aspirations and dreams at an early age but due to parental and societal pressure, those dreams can never manage to pick up wings. Consequently, a person is dictated to follow a certain career path that is not of his own choosing. Furthermore, with the progression of age, responsibilities pile up and the individual is pushed into a job, which is not to his liking. For instance, because music or art is not considered to be a lucrative career, many teenagers are pushed into a STEM career such as engineering, despite having no interest in the subject. Even though the person knows that he lacks the requisite skills for the work, he continues to dwell on it due to monetary compensation. A prolonged continuation of working in a job with little interest or stimulus, does have certain consequences. Firstly, the person is always in a state of agitation and mental unrest. Rather than being content with his work, there is a void of not pursuing his dream. When a person is frustrated at work, there is a possibility of venting out the anger on family and friends, despite no fault of theirs. Secondly, the individual is not the lone sufferer, the employer is also a loss as the employee performs below his level of competency in comparison to his peers. For instance, a person who has no inclination towards science can never reach his full potential in an engineering job. In conclusion, people continue in jobs with little interest due to societal responsibilities but it pushes them towards feeling trapped and mental instability which is not good for their wellbeing as well as the wellbeing of their family members.