Children can learn effectively by simply watching television, therefore they should be allowed to do so to watch T.V. regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is mentioned that, T. V. should be allowed as and when children want to watch, at school or at home, because it is a more effective way of learning. However, while I agree that, T. V is more visual and can be created as a more entertaining way for learning, I disagree that, children should be allowed to do so regularly. Firstly, T. V. programs are not always educational. Some subject matters may not be suitable for young minds. For example programs with abusive language and violence. These promote unhealthy behaviour, and by letting kids watch regularly, they could become victims of such programs, which later could lead to social problems. Therefore, T. V. should not be allowed to regularly. Secondly, it is discourages socialising and working as a group. T. V. is observed alone, so even educational activities are performed individually. As a result, a child may find it difficult to interact with others and become a team player. As such, it can be more difficult for a child to adjust to society when they grow up. Additionally T. V. does not provide feedback on the child's performance, plus it is impossible to clarify matters when they are too difficulut to understand. These shows are created for a larger audience,and not all children are at the same intellectual level. In the vent a child requires to get further clarification, it becomes impossible, as T. V. is only one-way communication and correcting errors become nearly impossible. Nevertheless, programs on T. V. can be very effective, because they can be created using special effects and animation. So, the child's concentration does not waver. Thus making it a more effective way to teach a lesson. In conclusion, I disagree that, children should be allowed to watch T. V. regularly, because not all programs are suitable for children, and they do not encourage group behaviour, plus communication is one-way; limiting the ability to get feedback or clarification on the subject matter.