: It is a good idea for teenagers to have jobs while they are still students. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There has been a controversial argument about whether or not high school students should work simultaneously with studying. Personally, I partially agree with this view because it is a two-sided sword. On the one hand, I believe that having a job as a student would negatively affect their performance at school. They have to allocate their time to work instead of study which may decrease their grades. For example, when they have an exam, they need to study a lot but if they have a job, they will not have enough time to prepare. This could also lead them to leave the school. In addition, working is likely to distract them and tiredness in consequence. On top of that, they may be exploited by their manager and colleagues because they are too young to be aware of their rights as an employee. On the other hand, having a good part-time job my benefit them more than the above-mentioned drawbacks. Firstly, they gain valuable experiences by working with adults. In other words, they might learn proper behaviour in a workplace to make good connections which would be helpful in the future. Secondly, there are likely to learn practical skills to become a professional, especially if they work in the field of construction. Finally, having work experience on their CV might impress their prospective employer. For instance, if they have work experience in programming, they will be more suitable and have more chances to get a job in a big company. In conclusion, although working during high school would be hard and have some negative impacts, in my opinion, the potential benefits are worth trying.