The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

Problems of health have been given increased attention in recent decades across the world. The consensus remained undecided, however, regarding where government funding should go: to the prevention of diseases, or to the treatment of such. I strongly believe it is far more effective to invest in prevention, but the treatment of serious diseases, still, should not be neglected. It goes without saying that prevention is better than cure. In an obvious sense, it proves more sustainable. Scientifically, human health can be reinforced and maintained effectively in the long term via varied approaches like dieting, exercising, and even spiritual therapy. If people remain vigilant to avoid severe ailments, they stand a lower chance of contracting them. Furthermore, this strategy appears more time- and cost-effective. Once a patient is diagnosed with, say, cancer, he or she will either pour their fortunes into immediate treatment or choose to wait for their inevitable doom. This money, collectively calculated, have amounted astronomically in recent years. But regardless, where patients have already reached the final stage of cancer, there is little else but a short time left for them to while away. All this money can be well-saved, and time can be lengthened, thanks to proper preventative schemes. However, if the government does not allocate funding into aiding treatments and the devising of new medicine, this will pave the way for grim scenarios. It is understandable that, however, well-prevented diseases are, they are still recurrences in people’s lives. Once a patient chooses to undergo treatment at a public hospital, a lack of state financial aid towards expensive procedures will disable people’s capability to continually access the services. He or she will have to rush towards alternative options with perhaps affordable price tags, but no guaranteed predicament. The government budget, if well spent, can equip hospitals and clinics with the necessary tools and resources to provide the best and most accessible services for patients in need. All in all, prevention definitely offers more benefits than cure, yet investment in both should prove most efficient in that public health can best be catered for.