Research indicates that the characteristic we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider as a major influence?

The personality and development of individuals have been becoming one of the fascinating studies. There are several studies about it. Some researches explore that our personality and development is affected by the unique characteristic that we have since we were born, while other studies demonstrate that life experiences influence our personality. In my opinion, someone’s personality and the development of it depends on the person's life experience. To begin with, everyone changes and grows. It is as a result of we have to face different situations, circumstances, people, and issues, in our daily life. The gathering of what we should face every day becomes the life knowledge that can impact our personality change, whether it is a development change or not. For instance, I was a shy person with a lack of self-confidence, but now I am not shy anymore since I was involved in different kinds of volunteer activities that affect how I interact with other people and how to manage my self-esteem. On the other hand, it does not mean that the characteristic that we have had since we were born do not influence our personality. It often affects our perspective on life, but it does not determine the development of our personality. For example, as I mentioned before, I was involved in many volunteer activities to boost my self-confidence. However, sometimes I was cautious in making a step since I was afraid to make mistakes that could make people underestimate me. I did not want this to happen because I was aware of myself. To conclude, I believe that our birth characteristics and life experiences influence the development of our personality, yet life experience has a major effect on our personality development.