Many people believe that public facilities (e.g. zoos, museums, parks)should be free. Other people think that you should pay to use these facilities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary epoch, proponents and I believe that public amenities should be free for every citizen. Opponents hold a diverse view and think that any usage of these facilities should cost money. I think that this will only make it harder to utilize these places. My contention will be further explained. On the one hand, some individuals think that citizens should pay to use these public places to cover the cost of maintenance. This means that if an individual uses these amenities, they should contribute to fixing and maintaining them. A prime example of this is a survey conducted by the Times News Magazine which revealed that the cost of maintaining public parks and toilets is enormous. Therefore, any individual should pay to use these places. On the other hand, a lot of individuals believe that they should be free because they are paid by taxpayers money. In other words, governments utilize taxes that are paid by men and women who live in the city to build these public places, so it should be free for these citizens. For example, numerous public toilets are constructed in Tokyo, Japan, and these public toilets provide their services for free to anyone who lives in Japan. Hence, public places should remain free and operational for the citizens who helped in paying for them. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that while some individuals believe that nothing should be free including public places, others think that public facilities are built by citizens to help them without any cost. I think it is the right of every citizen to utilize these places without paying.