Digital communication technology, such as email, instant messaging and social media, has improved communication and connection between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Modern technology, especially those that are related to communication, has a positive impact on the connection between people. Personally, I partially agree with this statement because it is a two-sided sword. On the one hand, I think it has one main drawback. Communication through the internet and social media would negatively affect the quality of relationships. In other words, the public may be less trustful and honest in this way. For example, if a person wants to deceive someone, it will be much easier to do it through digital communication technology such as video calls by WhatsApp. On top of that, people can simply pretend to be someone else, if the communication did not happen face-to-face. As a result, the risk of misleading would be increased. On the other hand, I believe that this technology would be far more beneficial. Firstly, connecting with people has become much easier this way. For instance, connection used to take a long time between population by sending letters in the past but nowadays you can talk to anyone from anywhere by a phone call or sending an email which is much faster. Secondly, the crowd who live far away from their families can stay in touch with them through the internet which fulfils their needs for emotional support. Finally, in situations such as the covid-19 pandemic, the population can continue their work or studies in this way without being in a place together. Therefore, progress is likely to not be interrupted. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential benefits of modern communication technology would be far more, although there are some possible harms.