Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? The world nowadays is inclining towards a greener environment and the very first initiative for a healthy environment is recycling the waste. Society claims that an inadequate amount of waste is recycled from every house, and they believe that to overcome this problem authorities should enforce laws regarding the same. In my opinion, I strongly support the aforementioned statement that strict policies should be imposed for making the public recycle their waste. Firstly, the officials should enforce strong laws in regards to the recycling process and these laws should be followed by penalties if not exercised. In other words, the government should strictly recommend that people follow the policies regarding recycling trash appropriately and inform them about the penalty for not exercising their duty. For instance, a survey in the USA found that after imposing a fine for not recycling the waste appropriately, people of the country became more alert and the roads of the country became much cleaner than they were before. Secondly, the officials should organize campaigns to educate people of rural areas on ways to recycle trash. Similarly, the government can educate students in the school by organizing campaigns and trips to make them learn about the hazardous impact of not recycling. However, it is not only the duty of the government to take steps to improve the environment, mutual efforts should be made by the citizens also. For example, the students of Gujarat University in Ahemdabad organized a rally on raising awareness regarding a clean and green environment. To conclude, the people living in the society should perform recycling as their part of habit and not as an obligation. In the same, way government should not keep any stone left unturned to protect our motherland.