Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However, many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

Health topics in the elderly have been consistently grown over the past few years. However, doctors have been recommended to exercise as a habit, most of the elderly do not take activity as much as it suppose to be. This is a result of physical strength matter and lacking motivation. This essay will explore more on the causes and solutions. Firstly, since older people might face some personal health problems, intensive exercises provided by the gym or fitness may weaken their strength. It is clear that the body could not effort the majority of sports such as cycling, running and jumping, playing these activities could lead to a serious injury. Instead of offering hard-core workouts, providing gentle and soft movements such as Chinese dance and slow walking can help since it is more accessible for this age. Secondly, one of the causes of demotivation in workouts is lacking self-esteem and self-awareness. Having an unsatisfaction body could lead to low self-esteem and inattention to their fitness as a result. Numerous studies found that the majority of over-60-years people do not have a sense of belonging which leads to less self-care. This problem could be tackled by support from a family who could empathise and motivate them will help. In conclusion, old people could have combat not only physical health issues but also mental health issues which is the root cause problem of lacking activity. It could be a complicated complication and requires time to remedy this issue, but having appropriate exercise and advocating for family members will definitely be a worthwhile trial to bring a healthy and happy life to the loved one.