Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

High-level sugar products have gained more attention from the public for their detrimental effect on people's health. Someone even argues that the price of these products should be raised to discourage people from purchasing them. Personally, I disagree with the idea because there are more viable ways to reach that. For a variety of reasons, it would be a wrong method to raise the price of products with a high levels of sugar. Firstly, increasing the prices cannot forbid people from eating sugar. They can add more sugar to their homemade food, leading to the same consequences that they still intake too much sugar. Secondly, it is unequal to the manufacturers because the high price will reduce their sales which result in a loss of earnings. It is more crucial for the government to raise citizens’ awareness of sugar -caused health problems. Few people have realized the significance of living a healthy life, which makes them keep consuming sugary products. So the essential measure we should take is to deepen their understanding of sugar ’s effects. Only when people make changes, can they consciously avoid health problems. They should take more courses about health issues and choose a clean diet. Manufacturers should also give strict restrictions on the sugar content of every product. In the meantime, they are supposed to print the disadvantages of sugar in the packages of their products. In conclusion, I believe it is more important to raise individual awareness of sugar -caused health problems rather than setting a higher price for sugary products. Efforts should be made by all, including individuals, manufacturers and governments.