The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

With the expansion of the tourism industry more and more people are travelling globally with English being one of the most common languages spoken internationally. People throughout the developed and developing countries argue that it may become the only language as it is used widely in the tourism industry. I believe there are more benefits than drawbacks. The drawback of having one common language is that the minority languages will cease to exist. Promoting it can have its drawbacks, Indigenous communities, for example, need their mother tongue to safely practice their traditions and culture and all efforts should be made to keep it alive. What's more, for these minority communities their mother tongue is vital to keep their culture and identity intact for their future generation, the research evidence supporting this in education is quite clear and research also demonstrates that strength in one's mother tongue is directly related to strength in learning a second dialect. However, the introduction of English does not help as native speakers have a different way of looking at the world which is essential for their ongoing life and to respect and retain their own cultural knowledge base. Despite this, there is ample, powerful evidence suggesting that having a global dialect opens up lots of opportunities for individuals internationally regarding education, jobs, medicine, science and entertainment. It helps in the advancement of the pharmaceuticals, peer-reviewed research without the chances of misunderstandings through transcribers. For example, students from India who are high achievers can travel to a developed nation like The United Kingdom to further their study opportunities in different fields due to shared speech. Furthermore, individuals working for multi-national companies, for example, Oil and Gas get to travel globally and are offered new opportunities to grow within the company. In addition to this, on a wider level, it may benefit other countries when individuals come with a specific set of skills. To illustrate, nurses and doctors often move to work in hospitals when there is a shortage. In conclusion, I would therefore argue that although there are disadvantages of having English as a common speech, they are outweighed by the advantages. From the above arguments and examples given I firmly believe that a binding global dialect could enrich people's lives globally in so many ways.