Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative developments?

A wedding is an event full of happiness and celebration not only for the bride and groom but also for their family and friends. In recent times, wedding ceremonies have become more extravagant and costly. This essay will explain the causes behind this phenomenon and I will also explain why I think it is a negative progression. The main reason for this development is that people want to show off their wealth and look at these ceremonies as a status symbol in society. This is simply because they want to impress their guests with their spending capacities and want to showcase grandeur through big events. For instance, many of the fancy weddings nowadays are destination weddings. These ceremonies are held in exotic resorts and are quite expensive. Additionally, there is an ongoing trend of splurging money on experiences and events rather than materialistic things. Thus, the bigger the wedding, the better the experience. However, in my opinion, this is a negative development as it shows that individuals care more about their image in society and feel the need to show off their wealth. Many times, families take out heavy loans for weddings as they feel the need to make a huge show or they would not be respected in their communities. Moreover, the money that is spent could be utilized in many better ways such as by investing in a house for the bride or groom or by donating it to charities. In conclusion, weddings have become larger and more expensive as people want to show off and there is a trend of splurging money to have a good time. I feel this is not good as it shows that individuals care more about their image in society and that the money could be used more wisely.