Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Almost every individual has a bike in The Netherlands. Because of this, sometimes it can lead to dangerous situations on the public roads. Therefore, some experts want cyclists to pass a test before being allowed on the public streets. I will outline to what extent I agree with this group. Firstly, we all learn how to cycle in The Netherlands. They have mastered cycling at a young age because their parents have taught them. Besides, at the primary school will they be subject to an unofficial travel-safety exam. Thereby, the general level of cyclists on the road is very high in, for instance, The Netherlands. This results in fewer accidents. Furthermore, we also stimulate people to go by bike. This is because we want to think more about the environment. If we introduce a test for a cyclist, the incentive to leave the car will be reduced. Nevertheless, there are also states in which it is not common that you practise how to cycle at a young age. Arising from this can be stated that it will lead to more traffic casualties. For example, in Spain is it not a regular activity to ride on a bike within the city. They often look at these people like they are tourists. In those countries will it be more dangerous on the road. In conclusion, it is unnecessary to require someone to take an exam before they are allowed to cycle in countries where the general level of cyclists is already quite high. However, in countries where is it not usual that individuals go to their destination by bike, an exam can be used to make the traffic safer.