An increasing number of professionals such as doctors and teachers are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

Owing to the desire for a better livelihood, an overwhelming number of skilled workers such as medical practitioners and lecturers are moving away from their penurious home countries to advanced nations. In this essay, I intend to discuss the problems caused by this developing trend and suggest some possible solutions to tackle the situation. To begin, certain challenges have been associated with emigration. The movement of professionals from their impoverished birth countries to relocate abroad has led to the loss of essential services. This means that, as more skilful personnel leave the country, both the healthcare sector, as well as the educational system will inevitably suffer in terms of service delivery. An example of this was experienced during the recent covid 19 pandemic, whereby the local hospitals lacked sufficient manpower, to attend to the increasing number of patients that were diagnosed, thus, leading to unwarranted deaths, especially among promising youths. Another threat that this could cause is overcrowding, particularly in the host continents, which might lead to serious consequences such as sudden disease outbreaks, as a result of unhygienic practices among the populace. However, these aforementioned issues related to migration may be mitigated through different means. One main way to curb this matter is for the government to take active steps in enhancing the standard of living of its citizens, as the overall determinant for increased relocation is the desire for a quality life. This can be achieved by creating more employment opportunities, making available important social amenities namely, water and electricity supply, motorable roads, affordable schools and free healthcare. An additional solution that could be adopted, is to build better housing facilities in overcrowded cities. If relevant authorities make an investment in these listed areas, the incidence of migration will reduce to a large extent, hence solving its relative problems. In conclusion, loss of essential services and high population are the two major issues linked with immigration, and these can be solved by improving living conditions and investing in social infrastructures. It is, therefore, imperative that appropriate bodies utilize these interventions in order to put an end to this disturbing trend.