Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

The advent of mega shopping malls has threatened the existence of local businesses. This essay will discuss the impact of this development including loss of employment and price monopoly by big companies. This essay will also suggest possible solutions including price -cap regulations and revamp of the traditional market. Many local business communities have collapsed owing to tough competition from big enterprises thus giving later monopolies to dictate the price of commodities. In addition, many people employed in small manufacturing units have lost their livelihood as these small retail shops are dependent on them. For instance, the inflation rate has jumped in past few years since the introduction of big malls. As a result, unemployment and the rising rate of inflation could cause the gross domestic product to drop, thereby,adversely affecting the economy of the country. However, putting price -cap regulations and upgrading the traditional market could help in mitigating this issue. Setting a limit on the cost of commodities would check the control of big companies in the commercial market. For example, the imposition of high tax on big corporations and the implementation of certain schemes providing loans to local businesses are a few measures the government could take to tackle this issue. Therefore, the intervention of the government is necessary to retain the traditional market. To conclude, the establishment of supermarkets have made local communities suffer. This essay discussed the effect of big companies on small retail stores in terms of loss of business employment and price hike. This essay also suggested possible solutions such as price regulations and rival of small businesses by the governments.