Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are those who believe that the amount of money sports celebrities receives in comparison with other relevant professions is completely understandable in our society nowadays, while the alternative stance argues that such a situation is extremely unjustified. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective on the matter. On one hand, there are many who agree with the high wage paid to sports stars. This is because the sport has been used to entertain people, which makes these professionals celebrities, and hence, more money is given to them to create entertainment. Furthermore, most of the capital earned by sports players is not from their salaries, but from brands that see them as models and faces to their campaigns. To illustrate this, many players at the end of the game put hats or clothes on to give interviews after games, where the logo of famous brands are displayed. In this way, sports are being paid to promote products. In spite of these considerations, it is possible to make the opposing case. It is advocated that sports stars do not truly contribute to our society when compared to other professions. This is due to the fact that other professions such as doctors are able to save people’s lives, and teachers who create thinkers in our community, earn far less than sports players. A second point is that the high salaries create an illusion of a bright future for the young generation, which might decide to play instead of going to school. A particularly good example here is the number of children who go to soccer tests aiming to become famous soccer players. In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have merits. On balance, however, it is my opinion that the amount paid to sports celebrities is completely justified. This is because it is my firm belief that they promote good entertainment in our lives, and giving them higher salaries do not influence the salaries of other professions, as brands are somehow responsible for part of this money.