Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

An increasing number of people including youngsters are using computers widely, and playing games on their devices has become a favourite pastime activity for every young child. Such a trend leads to some drawbacks and several measures can be taken by parents to mitigate the negative consequences. With the rise in demand in recent years, online virtual games are designed to attract more young people’s attention and make them feel engaged and motivated to keep moving to the next level after accomplishing higher scores, breaking new records, and hitting new targets. In other words, the competitiveness of these video games will eventually lead young children to sacrifice their sleep or study time to stay ahead of their peers. As a consequence of too much screen time, they may lose interest in their lessons and may not be able to keep up with their classmates, or in the worst scenario, they may end up suffering from back and neck problems, anxiety, and depression. In order to alleviate these effects, parents should limit their children’s screen time by setting some strict rules. This will help young kids to be more disciplined and maintain a balance between schoolwork and playing games. For example, they should allow their offspring to have access to their devices only for a particular period of time on a daily basis. Another step parents can take to hinder their children from becoming addicted to games is to encourage them to join school clubs and take up physical activities such as sports, photography, or painting, which will enable young students to find new interests and end up spending far less time staring at their screens. To conclude, young children may be affected badly due to their addiction to computer games, and to prevent this from happening, parents should control their children’s access to games and persuade them to spend more time doing physical activities.