Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Studies have been analyzing that most people who committed a crime and spent some time in jail, ended up breaking the law again when they had freedom. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the reasons and possible solutions for this issue. Many causes contribute to the increase of crimes being committed after leaving prison. One of them is that ex-prisoners have difficulties finding a job. For instance, it is unlikely that someone will give a second chance to a person who was in prison without education or experience. Besides, the conditions of many prisons are precarious, so many have to take extreme measures to guarantee their own safety, such as becoming part of gangs or exchanging favours. So when they go out, they already have a debt to pay and not many opportunities. Nevertheless, there are a few actions to reduce the relapsing into crime. One would be an investment in education and reinsertion into the job market. Thus, decent conditions should be given to the criminals, so they have a chance to study and get a job once their punishment is over. In addition, alternative punishments, such as services to the community, have been proved to be more efficient to prevent people from committing a crime again. Therefore, if more alternative sentences were applied for non-violent crimes, we might see a reduction in crimes, as well as less crowded prisons. In conclusion, it is known that once you spent some time in jail, it might be difficult to find work, especially when there is no qualification, and also sometimes there are no other ways to survive other than entering gangs, for example. However, there are some ways to mitigate this, by giving them a chance to study and find a job, and applying different punishments, so many lives could be saved and those criminals could contribute to society.