Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

In this contemporary day and,age many universities are just focused on providing a degree with the cram knowledge of that particular subject.In my,opinion the college's main priorities should be to give skillfully knowledge to the pupils rather than giving their own useless subject knowledge.I will expound my viewpoint in the following paragraphs. Firstly,It is futile to provide the skills or knowledge that is not related to their field of work because it would not help the student in future or in getting suitable work in the company. For example,as an engineering student is studying marketing rather than mechanical knowledge gives them no use at all in developing the skills. Moreover,he has nothing to write in his resume if he/she did not learn anything from the teacher and then all blame has to be borne by the university for the student's failure. Secondly,if the institution gives more importance to the skills and not to the academics then also it would not be beneficial for the student so that there should be a balance of both so that they can grasp both the skills with good academic scores and also a knowledge of the physical work that the companies nowadays demand. Furthermore,the university should try to provide field trips to boost student proficiency and should provide them with internships to gain experience. In conclusion,the college's main function is to make a kid ready for the future dealing and problems rather than naging the student to learn whatever the university wants to learn them.