Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is unfortunate that in the midst of vast progress in every field of life, there is still a growth of air pollution. To tackle this dilemma, some people advocate for better transport infrastructure and cheaper transport fares, I strongly agree with the idea as it is an effective way to encourage people to take public transportation thus reducing pollution. To begin with, investment in public transport systems may increase the options for transportation, and bring commuters a more reliable transit system which sends passengers to more destinations. Nowadays, more and more people are in favour of travelling by car, that is due to the convenience brought by private vehicles, such as controllability and punctuality. Therefore, for the purpose of reducing transport emissions as a whole, it is imperative to increase the number of public transportation users by reducing the number of car users. A mode of better public transport is not enough, economic factors are also important. For example, sometimes a subway ticket can be more expensive than the share of taking an Uber with other passengers. Or, the total train ticket price for a family is higher than that if they drive their own car. Therefore, reducing public transport fares can have a positive influence on people's choices, especially on special groups of commuters who have a daily need to travel to school or work. To conclude, to solve the problem of today's severe transport pollution, governments should allocate a budget to improve the public transport systems and reduce ticket prices. Of course, there are other measures that can be taken such as enhancing citizen's awareness and developing new energy, however, I still believe the mentioned methods are the most effective ones.