some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is argued by many people that punishment should be constant for every type of criminal activity, while others say that situation and motive of the person who commits a crime should be considered before giving the final verdict. While rigid sentences for each category of crime can save time for governments, I believe that the motive of the criminals should be considered before giving punishment. On the one hand, deciding rigid punishment for each category of offence can save time and energy for governments. There would be a set of codes for each criminal activity and authorities will not have to wait for the court decision before punishing a criminal. In addition, a lot of expenses such as lawyer fees and judges' time could be saved, resulting in an efficient system would take place and criminals will think twice before committing a crime. For example, in the USA someone caught with even a small amount of heroin is likely to be locked up for at least a year. However, I believe that this system does not solve the actual problem because the criminals will know the exact sentence before committing serious and fatal crimes. On the other hand, taking care of the motives of the person can save innocent offenders. It might be the case that the person has committed the crime in self-defence, in case of fixed punishment they will also face similar criminal charges as serious offenders. For example, a woman in Pakistan shot a person to death who was trying to rape her and the court declared her innocent. I believe this method can save many lives such as youngsters who can turn into Nobel citizens with education and proper guidance. To conclude, although sentencing the same punishment for each criminal activity could be cost-effective for governments, the criminals themselves should be seen as victims and their intentions should be taken care of before sending them to prison because they might have done the crime to save themselves.