Some people think the best way to learn new things is to study them alone. Others think that it is always better to get help from a skilled teacher. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some believe that the best way to grasp new things is by learning alone while others believe that an adept facilitator will be a better help for this. This essay is going to elaborate on both of these perspectives along with an opinion. First of all, some people think that studying alone will be more beneficial to learn new knowledge. They argue that this method will give one a lot of concentration on what he studies. It is evident from many studies that increased concentration improves the learning. In addition, a sense of self-reliance will be there which can play a pivotal role in mastering the new skill successfully. For example, OSCEs are practised by university students alone to get them to pass the examination. On the other hand, some think that a skillful trainer is a must, when a new thing is learnt. This is because a trained person can foresee the difficulties in acquiring a novel skillset and he can facilitate the ways to overcome them. For example, junior surgeons are always trained by a senior pro in medical education. Moreover, a teacher makes the process of acquiring knowledge and skills more interesting and enjoyable than monotonous self-study. This was vocalised by many students of mine when I was a teacher. To conclude, one can easily say that learning with a skilled trainer is always the best way to learn new things, although there are other opinions. The reasons for the opinion are detailed in the above-mentioned paragraphs and are substantiated with examples.