There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

Many major cities suffer from noise pollution which causes a great concern for city residents. While this could be attributed to heavy traffic and overcrowded streets, encouraging the use of electric cars and also making cities greener with trees could be some practical ways to deal with the noise issue. On the one hand, there are some underlying reasons behind high noise levels in cities. The main one is heavy traffic on city roads. Indeed, because of being densely populated, cities often face a considerable number of cars which are often with petrol-based engines and cause noise disturbance. All too often, not only does the engine sound create noise on city roads, but also car horns and signals contribute significantly to these levels. Another noticeable factor for noise pollution in cities is overcrowding in public places. Naturally, the higher the number of people in a place, the more noise is produced around, which is clearly the case in many city areas. On the other hand, this issue can be solved in numerous ways. The first and foremost method could be the introduction of electric cars for city dwellers. In other words, cars that run on batteries do not generally produce noise due to the lack of fuel-burning engines. If the majority of city drivers rely on such types of automobiles, cities would be much quieter. However, this is not the sole solution to the issue. Planting trees around cities could also act as an obstacle against noise. In fact, trees have a feature to absorb noise, and this is what city planners need when it comes to reducing noise levels. In conclusion, the main reasons why cities are often noisy are associated with the high number of cars on city roads and crowded city areas. Nevertheless, this issue can be tackled by making electric cars more common and turning cities much greener.