It is better for students to live away from home while studying at university than to live with parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate over whether students should live independently during their university studies or reside with their parents is a major topic of concern in contemporary society. While some people place significant importance on the advantages of family bonding, I would contend that independent living outweighs the potential advantages of living with parents. One benefit of leaving home is that young people may foster independence and personal growth. Without the usual support and guidance of parents, they have to make decisions independently on a wide range of issues, such as the length of the lease, choosing a flatmate and refurnishing the flat they rent if necessary. Apart from the decision-making ability, a variety of skills which could equip them for future challenges in their working lives, encompassing managing the monthly budget and keeping a house, may be developed as well. For instance, tidying up the bedroom every day is fundamentally an organizational skill which is essential to complete routine tasks efficiently when they enter the workforce. In addition, living separately from their parents enables youngers to enjoy greater freedom in social life and potentially gain enhanced interpersonal skills. By joining some clubs, going to the gym, attending parties and even taking up a part-time job, young individuals could make new friends from all walks of life in different settings, thereby sharpening their social skills which are significantly valuable for their career progression. On the other hand, it is essential to acknowledge that some students may have to combat the sense of loneliness when living apart from family. They may not be able to eat daily meals with their parents to enjoy bonding with family and receive advice when suffering difficulties in their education. In order not to worry their nurturers, some students may choose to hide their feelings even when they are unable to cope with great challenges alone. Their emotional pressure may be inappropriately handled that the relationship with their parents is adversely affected and they do not find the value in maintaining close contact with family. In conclusion, I firmly believe that living independently when young people start university could substantially contribute to the development of individuals, despite the potential impact on family ties.