As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the development of the global economy and travelling, people have been using international languages like English, rather than their local languages, leaving them at the edge of extinction. As a result,some countries try to protect these minor languages by various aspects like teaching them at schools. Considering all these facts, this writer believes that, these minor languages must be protected by their governments. On the one hand, people try to learn new technology, science and new lifestyles, which are unfamiliar with their own cultures. This has led, communities to flee from their homelands to more developed countries in the West. However, for communication with these new countries, they learned international languages and their own local languages have become shaded out. For example, according to the latest report of UNICEF, 52% of local languages in Africa and Asia has been disappeared from the earth during the last century, mainly due to the usage of other languages by people like English. On the other hand, these minor languages are very important to locals because they represent their heritage and history. Furthermore, some languages are very advanced and much easy to use than common international languages. Hence, most countries in the African and Asian regions try to protect their languages in several ways. To illustrate this,the Indian government recently started a programme to teach local languages in the schools to protect these languages for their future generations. In conclusion, with the up-lifting of international travelling and business, minor languages in some countries are on the edge of extinction and most local authorities try to protect them for their future generations by various methods. This writer opines, that protection of these languages should be the top priority of these local governments and they should spend much for it.