some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The crime rate is increasing at an exponential rate in the world due to several reasons which are increasing the burden on legal systems. A certain portion of society believes there needs to be a standard punishment for all sorts of crime as legal proceedings take a considerable amount of duration. However, I would argue that having the same punishment is uncivilized, even though it will reduce the legal process to a greater extent. On one hand, there are a few individuals who have an intention of committing a crime due to their background. It may be because they want easy money or pleasure. For instance, individuals who are involved in hijacking, homicides have a cruel mentality and should be given the death sentence or lifetime prison. To illustrate, in Middle East countries, criminals who have committed rape are hanged in public to create awareness which results in reduced crime. On the other hand, there are certain minor crimes such as traffic rules violation, pick-pocketing and shoplifting. These need to be categorized as less offensive crimes and intention needs to be known before judging and giving a sentence. For example, a kid who is starving might steal a meal from a restaurant is not the same as a person who stabs elderly women for jewellery and cash. They deserve a second chance before considering them for harsh punishments. Additionally, they can be given communal work such as planting trees, cleaning streets and providing them with the required training to easily re-integrate back into society, thus reducing crime. To summarize, stricter punishments should be imposed only on criminals who are involved in serious crimes. Human beings who commit minor offences based on the circumstances need to be given another opportunity by giving them non-custodial punishment and training them, thereby allowing them to seamlessly integrate into society.