Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There has been an intensive debate between the advantages and disadvantages of hosting an international sports event. Although we all recognize how good it is for the economy of the host country, some people reckon that the drawbacks may outweigh the benefits. In my opinion, the host country will incur some negative consequences rather than receive beneficial results. On the one hand, the fact that the country hosts an international sports event can help to raise awareness of the importance of sport. From then, it fosters the competitive spirit of the sports fan, and creates a chance for the youth to take up their favourite sports players. As a result, people's health is promoted; whilst, the pace of life would be livelier and more joyful thanks to the spread of sports atmosphere. Additionally, holding an international event is always a sufficient method for attracting tourists, which provides a great stimulus to the income of the national budget. On the other hand, I believe that most governments place too much value on the sport. Firstly, the authority often usually burns a huge amount of money in infrastructures and facilities aimed at sports events that lack practical value. Because once the sports events end, they can not be used for community purposes or any other events else. Secondly, such influx would make a more influential impact to the standard of living of the citizens such as building more hospitals in remote areas, healthcare policy or aid policy for the homeless. Next, to make a good preparation for these events, the host nation has to provide funding for restaurants, hotels and many interesting places which are served for entertainment, leading to curb public spending on a welfare state. In conclusion, I support the idea that the host nation should first apply the national budget for the improvement in their citizen's standards of living before using it for extravagant construction.