In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything they try hard enough what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

In certain places, young people are brought up to believe that if they work hard, they can attain everything they want. The main benefits of this behaviour are high self-esteem and development of determination, however, the key drawbacks are delusion and poor job prospects. Firstly, raising the children with belief that they can achieve their dreams with hard work helps children build confidence in themselves. They understand very well that definitely there would be a success after their hard work, this self-belief makes them stronger and they understand the value of sacrifices and rewards. Secondly, this builds determination and perseverance among children. They do not quit their work in the middle and stand up to end to taste success. For example, my friend passed the admission test for medical university after several attempts, he did not quit because he was raised by his parents and he can achieve it easily. However, if one blindly follow their dreams, they can become deluded. This is because they can develop an unshakable belief in themselves that does not exist in reality. They can waste their time by attempting the same thing several times and in the end when goals are not achieved, they can harm themselves or those in their surroundings. Another factor is that their useless determination and over-confidence lead them to poor career prospects. Being self-employed they could waste their finances to make their business successful or being an employee they do not share the same beliefs with their employers, resulting in a bad performance in their positions. For instance, Los Angeles is full of failed actors who believe that they will be the next Hollywood stars but are forced to do service jobs that require no formal education. In conclusion, sending the message to children that they can be anything they set their minds which is a positive thing because it leads them to be determined throughout their lives. However, their dreams should be rooted in reality to avoid misconceptions and poor career opportunities.