In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that an increasing number of people are keen on researching their family history. There are many reasons which lead to this trend. In my opinion, this development is positive. From my perspective, two main reasons contribute to this phenomenon, namely the need for a sense of identity and the development of technology. To start with, nowadays in some parts of the world, more and more people want to prove that they are unique and special in the society. Therefore, looking for more details of the history of their own families is an ideal way for them to know themselves and their roots, also it can help them to develop their social identities. Furthermore, another reason for this trend is the overall popularity of the Internet. It is quite convenient and possible for people to research the history of their own families on the Internet by going throwing electronic materials or accessing some online databases. Also, many people like to share the old stories of their families on some social media platforms, which results in the prevalence of researching family history. Personally speaking, this development can benefit our lives in many positive ways, including socializing, developing new hobbies for children and discovering lost relatives. First of all, studying family history can help people to improve their social life. For instance, sharing family stories are a good taking point to start a conversation with a stranger and lead a closer relationship with your friends and family if you discover a particularly interesting ancestor. Secondly, children may be motivated to develop their interests in history and related disciplines like geography, if there are more people in their family who are addicted to researching their own family trees and ancestral homes. Lastly, sharing information about families may help people find “long-lost” family members or relatives. In conclusion, many factors contribute to the truth that more and more people are hooked on researching their own family history. From my point of view, this trend is desirable.